Wednesday, 2 November 2011

Catscans EP review

Leeds based Catscans, a four piece essentially consisting of former members of We Sell Seashells, have come up with a 3 track EP which, although displaying all the elements of what is now thought of as “post rock”, has a few surprises which hint at a promising future. The band themselves comprise Jonathan Edwards (guitar, voice and synthesiser), Christine Caulfield (violin, cello and Nyckelharpa or “key harp”/”keyed fiddle”), Michael Capstick (guitars) and Jake Wilson (drums). Although a mere 3 tracks give little room for a fuller appraisal, each of the tracks here are infused with a unique blend of strings and landscapes of soft, intelligent guitar....... 

No comments:

Post a Comment